>La Grande Observer | Union and Wallowa Counties' News Leader

La Grande, OR forecast
& Eastern Oregon University Valley Cam

Observer news NE Oregon Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Follow LaGrandeObserver.com

Today's front page

Image of The Observer's Front Page

Get Home Delivery of The Observer for only $8.50 per month, $9.50 for motor routes. Just click here and after filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more information about local, state and world news.

manage your account »

Recent article comments

Powered by Disqus

Home arrow News arrow Local News arrow ESD to honor area’s best educators

ESD to honor area’s best educators

Fourteen individuals to be recognized today

Fourteen of the best and the brightest educators and education staff members at public schools in Union County will be honored in a big way today at Eastern Oregon University.

The 14 educators will be saluted at the annual Crystal Apple Awards ceremony. The program begins at 4:45 p.m. at the Gilbert Event Center with a social. The awards ceremony starts at 5:15 p.m. A social following the ceremony will be held at Mt. Emily Ale House. It will run from 6:15 p.m. to 8 p.m. 

The Crystal Apple Award program is put on by the InterMountain Education Service District. 

“The Crystal Apple Awards are a way for the IMESD and our local school districts to show their appreciation for staff who have served as shining stars over the past year,” said Casey White-Zollman, director of the Crystal Apple Awards program. “We often take for granted the work our eduction employees do each day, so it’s nice to take time to really recognize those special people who really make a difference in our schools and with our kids.”

The educators who will be honored include Cove’s Toby Koehn and Heide Thomas; Stella Mayfield’s Carolyn Erickson and Sharon Stover; Imbler’s Teressa Dewey and Becky Mullarkey; La Grande’s Susie Harris, Kathy Spears and Forrest Warren; Island City’s Terri Woodruff; Powder Valley’s Suzi Dixon, and Blake Jones; and Union’s  Dennis Clark and Norman “Nod” Palmer. 

The IMESD also conducts a Crystal Apple Awards ceremony annually for Umatilla and Morrow county educators. The ceremony for these educators was held May 15 in Pendleton.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Local / Sports / Business / State / National / Obituaries / Public Notices
Editorials / Letters / Guest Columns / Columnists
Outdoors / Ag / Spiritual / Go Magazine / Portraits
View all classifieds / Jobs / Autos / Real Estate / Rentals / Place an Ad
The Observer
About / Contact / Commercial Printing / Subscriptions / Terms of Use / Site Map
Also Online
Photo Reprints / Slideshows / Weather and Valley Cam / /index.php?option=com_rss&feed=RSS2.0&no_html=1">RSS Feed ?> RSS Feed

Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use

LaGrandeObserver.com works best with the latest versions of Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer or Apple Safari