>La Grande Observer | Union and Wallowa Counties' News Leader

Observer news NE Oregon Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Follow LaGrandeObserver.com

La Grande Observer print edition

view all La Grande Observer print publications »

La Grande Observer Paper 07/23/14

The LaGrande Observer is now online in a Replica E-edition form and publishes Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Current subscribers have full access to the E-edition.

View Paper

If you are not a current subscriber, subscribe today for immediate access.


Recent article comments

Powered by Disqus

Home arrow News arrow Local News arrow Enterprise, Wallowa elect new mayors

Enterprise, Wallowa elect new mayors

The cities of Wallowa and Enterprise elected new mayors for 2013-2015. Last night’s election returns had Vikki Knifong winning the Wallowa mayoral race and Margie Shaw defeating incumbent Steve Lear in Enterprise.

Bill Coffin beat Sam Summers for the only contested Enterprise councilor race, and Larry Christman and Stacey Karvoskil maintained their seats.

Two candidates for Wallowa City Council were elected out of five candidates; Lisa Mahon and Garrett Lowe will serve four-year terms.

Incumbent Lostine Mayor Krag Norton ran unopposed and will serve another two year term. April Hubbell won the uncontested council member race while another position in Lostine went unfilled.

In Joseph, Mayor Dennis Sands kept his position in an unopposed race as did city councilors Liza Butts, George Ballard, and unopposed newcomer Andrew Esquibel.

The Wallowa County Soil and Water District has two board members, Melvin Stonebrink, Alan Klages and Dan Warnock.

Board of Commissioners Chairman Mike Hayward and incumbent commissioner Susan Roberts both kept their seats in unopposed races as did County Treasurer Shonelle Dutcher-Pryse. 

Incoming Sheriff Steve Rogers won the majority of a three-way race in May and was the only candidate and winner of the race in last night’s general election.

The county’s weed control levy won handily with 79 percent Yes votes. The levy was a renewal and will fund the county’s work controlling weeds on both county land and in partnership with landowners.

Wallowa County overwhelmingly supported Rep. Greg Walden, R-Hood River for the second congressional district, Bill Hansel for state senate and Bob Jenson for the state house of representatives.

The county was not in step with the majority of the nation, giving Mitt Romney 67 percent of their vote opposed to 30 percent that went to President Obama.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Local / Sports / Business / State / National / Obituaries / Public Notices
Editorials / Letters / Guest Columns / Columnists
Outdoors / Ag / Spiritual / Go Magazine / Portraits
View all classifieds / Jobs / Autos / Real Estate / Rentals / Place an Ad
The Observer
About / Contact / Commercial Printing / Subscriptions / Terms of Use / Site Map
Also Online
Photo Reprints / Slideshows / Weather and Valley Cam / /index.php?option=com_rss&feed=RSS2.0&no_html=1">RSS Feed ?> RSS Feed

Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use

LaGrandeObserver.com works best with the latest versions of Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer or Apple Safari

apoteket viagra acheter silagra 100 cialis generico mg prezzo comprare cialis online in italia viagra pour femme faire waar dient tadalafil voor viagra schweiz rezeptfrei viagra gratis viagra kaufen online comprare viagra senza ricetta viagra x le donne cialis generico con visa levitra precios cialis au quebec viagra rezeptfrei billig costo cialis 10 mg vendita viagra in italia cerco cialis farmacia donde comprar levitra en españa cialis lääke cialis seriös kaufen viagra bestellen in deutschland levitra pris levitra medicamento tadalafil tabletten kamagra gel kaufen venta de tadalafil viagra generico viagra site francais levitra vente