>La Grande Observer | Union and Wallowa Counties' News Leader

La Grande, OR forecast
& Eastern Oregon University Valley Cam

Observer news NE Oregon Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Follow LaGrandeObserver.com

Today's front page

Image of The Observer's Front Page

Get Home Delivery of The Observer for only $8.50 per month, $9.50 for motor routes. Just click here and after filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more information about local, state and world news.

manage your account »

Recent article comments

Powered by Disqus

Home arrow News arrow Local News arrow Grand champion awards cap off 2013 Wallowa County Fair

Grand champion awards cap off 2013 Wallowa County Fair

The Grand Champion FFA poultry award went to Ben Smallen at the Wallowa County Fair. (Katy Nesbitt/The Observer)
The Grand Champion FFA poultry award went to Ben Smallen at the Wallowa County Fair. (Katy Nesbitt/The Observer)

The Wallowa County Fair came to a close Saturday night with the FFA and 4-H awards, FFA dinner and the stock auction.

This year’s top awards for FFA market lambs went to Grand Champion Cheyenne Knight. For market swine, Grand Campion was Brandi Smith and the Grand Champion market steer award went to Myranda McFedtridge.

In 4-H, the top market lamb award went to Madison McDowell. For swine, Samantha Wightman won the Grand Champion prize and  the top steer award went to Chloe Birkmaier.

The 4-H High-Point Rabbit Project, Outstanding Junior Rabbit Project, High-Point Poultry, High-Point Individual Hersdman, and Junior Small Animal Showman awards went to Ashley Wilson. Champion Individual Rabbit Herdsman was Caitlin Robb; Outstanding Junior Poultry Project and High-Point Small Animal Showman went to Michael Diggins; High-Point Cavy went to Lexi Chamberlain; and the top Intermediate Small Animal Showman was Gabrielle Wells.

Independent 4-H High-Point Herdsmanship went to Cameron Salmon and the Champion Herdsmanship Livestock Club was Wallowa County Livestock.

In 4-H Livestock Judging, the Senior Champion was Bretta Wentz, Intermediate Champion was Aspen Birkmaier, and Junior Champion was Haley Miller.

Senior Livestock Judging went to Anna Rinehart, the Intermediate winner was Aspen Birkmaier and the top Junior was Chloe Birkmaier.

The finalists for the Senior Livestock Judging team were Anna Rinehart, Alex Finifrock and Tara Wilber. Intermediate Team is Aspen Birkmaier, Chloe Birkmaier, Deidre Schreiber, Maddi Tracy and Haley Miller. The Junior Team is Jake Coggins, Cole Gomes Casidee Harrod, Carsyn Miller, Zan Bathke and Timmy Wells.

The Judge Tippett Memorial Award went to Kobe Ketscher for the best all-around 4-H beef project.

The Supreme Female Over All Breeds went to Aspen Birkmaier and the Exhibitor With the Highest Scoring Hereford went to Alex Wightman.

Beef Showman awards went to intermediate Lauren Makin, junior Chloe Birkmaier, and first-year junior Deidre Schreiber. 

All-Around Beef Project awards went to intermediate Lauren Makin and junior Deidre Schreiber.

Advanced FFA Showmen Champion for sheep was Dylan Denton and Greenhand Champion was Gabrielle Wells. 

Stephanie Simpson earned champion for swine and Kurt Norton was Champion Greenhand. Marta Stangel won Grand Champion for the advanced FFA students and the Greenhand Champion was Teagan Miller. 

Cheyenne Hall took the champion ribbon home for goats and Claire Beck was the champion in show for dairy beef.

Champion Hampshire Ewe award went to Trevor Wentz. 

Top Sheep Showmen were senior Sarah Kunkle, intermediate Reagan Bedard, junior Madison McDowell, and first-year junior Mary Catherine Matthews. The all-around sheep awards went to senior Sarah Kunkle, intermediate Trent Bales and junior Madison McDowell.

High-Point Food winner was Deidre Schreiber, the High-Point Clothing award went to Caitlin Robb and the best fleece of show went to Aubrina Melville.

Best of Show in Art went to Gracie Carlsen and to Madison Falk in

Champion junior scrapbooker was Jacob Falk and the champion intermediate awards went to Madison Falk and Georgia Falk.

Austin Brockamp took top honors in horticulture.

Record book champions were senior Cody Arbogast, intermediate Sarah Aschenbrenner and junior Deidre Schreiber.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Local / Sports / Business / State / National / Obituaries / Public Notices
Editorials / Letters / Guest Columns / Columnists
Outdoors / Ag / Spiritual / Go Magazine / Portraits
View all classifieds / Jobs / Autos / Real Estate / Rentals / Place an Ad
The Observer
About / Contact / Commercial Printing / Subscriptions / Terms of Use / Site Map
Also Online
Photo Reprints / Slideshows / Weather and Valley Cam / /index.php?option=com_rss&feed=RSS2.0&no_html=1">RSS Feed ?> RSS Feed

Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use

LaGrandeObserver.com works best with the latest versions of Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer or Apple Safari

  • cialis pharmacie en ligne comprare cialis in farmacia cialis veritable baclofen 25 mg cialis generique 10 viagra im internet bestellen strafbar acheter générique viagra kamagra oral jelly billig tadalafil generico farmacia medicamento levitra
    1. apteekki viagra cialis generika kaufen prix cialis le vrai pas le générique baclofen preis apotek på nett cialis nachnahme acheter du cialis en andorre viagra da 25 mg kjøp kamagra propecia generico