>La Grande Observer | Union and Wallowa Counties' News Leader

La Grande, OR forecast
& Eastern Oregon University Valley Cam

Observer news NE Oregon Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Follow LaGrandeObserver.com

Today's front page

Image of The Observer's Front Page

Get Home Delivery of The Observer for only $8.50 per month, $9.50 for motor routes. Just click here and after filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more information about local, state and world news.

manage your account »

Recent article comments

Powered by Disqus

Home arrow Opinion arrow ALL-STARS



Senior Shalece Hibbert of La Grande has been named the Eastern Oregon Leagues girls soccer MVP.

Hibbert, a defender, led La Grande to the league title and a spot in the state quarterfinals this season.

La Grande coach Alex Steenstra was named the leagues coach of the year.

Other Tigers on the all-league first team include senior forward Karli Nebeker, senior midfielder Cathy Herrmann, junior forward Lindsey Carmichael and sophomore midfielder Alexis Baum.

Second team selections from La Grande were junior defender Amanda Schuft, sophomore midfielder Caitlin Schoenfelder and sophomore goalkeeper Amber Rasmussen.

Honorable mention was given to junior defender Hilary Girrard and sophomore midfielder Nicole Lewis.

Eastern Oregon League

Girls Soccer All-Stars

MVP Shalece Hibbert, sr, def, La Grande.

Coach of the year Alex Steenstra, La Grande.

First team Hibbert; Karli Nebeker, sr, fwd, LG; Cathy Herrmann, sr, mid, LG; Lindsey Carmichael, jr, fwd, LG; Alexis Baum, so, mid, LG; Jena Ogawa, jr, mid, Ontario; Tosha Wilson, jr, mid, Madras; Callie Renk, jr, mid, O; Jessica Knowlton, sr, def, O; Holly Kelly, sr, def, McLoughlin; Jonae Ybarra, sr, GK, O.

Second team Amanda Schuft, jr, def, LG; Caitlin Schoenfelder, so, mid, LG; Mollie Skov, jr, mid, The Dalles; Melany Hancock, jr, mid, Riverside; Teresa Alexander, jr, def, Mad; Erin Peterson, sr, mid, TD; Kendra Nelson, jr, mid, O; Laura Kuerth, sr, fwd, O; Akimi Murata, sr, fwd, O; Brittany Garton, so, fwd, Mac; Amber Rasmussen, so, GK, LG.


Senior Casey Fenwick of La Grande has been named a first-team all-Greater Oregon League defensive back.

Fenwick was La Grandes only first-teamer on the GOLs all-stars.

Fenwick was also named to the second team as a running back. Three other Tigers were given second-team honors: senior wide receiver Aaron Thomas, senior offensive lineman Joseph Waite and senior linebacker Rob Searles.

Honorable mention was given to senior wide receiver Adam Kleck, senior running back Jacob Simonis; junior quarterback Kyle Bomberger; and senior defensive lineman Weston Weaver.

Greater Oregon League

Football All-Stars

Offensive players of the year Cody Anthony, sr, Vale; Greg Keim, jr, Ontario. Defensive players of the year Seth Peterson, sr, Burns; Jeff Romans, sr, V.

First team offense

WR Greg Goodenough, sr, Baker; Justin Officer, sr, Grant Union. RB Anthony; Talon Hoffman, so, Bu; Keim. QB Trevor Simmons, jr, GU. TE Trevor Malstrom, sr, O. OL Eban Rollins, sr, Bu; Justin Freed, jr, Bu; Marc Hansen, sr, GU; Marc Johnson, sr, V; Stephan Maupin, jr, V. Kicker Michael Lissman, jr, O.

First team defense

DL Levi Robertson, sr, V; Peterson; Mark Hansen, sr, GU; Alex McCulley, sr, O; Tyler Mack, jr, Ba. LB Romans; Freed; T.J. Presley, jr, O; Brooks Warrington, sr, O. DB Ricky Turner, sr, Riverside; Keim; Casey Fenwick, sr, La Grande; Kenny Rohner, sr, V; Darren Thomas, sr, Bu. Punter Derek Riggs, sr, Ba.

Second team (La Grande only)

WR Aaron Thomas, sr. RB Fenwick. OL Joseph Waite, sr. LB Rob Searles, sr.

Honorable mention (La Grande only)

WR Adam Kleck, sr. RB Jacob Simonis, sr. QB Kyle Bomberger, jr. DL Weston Weaver, sr.


Terri Wilson of Wallowa High School has been named the Wapiti Leagues volleyball coach of the year.

Wilson led the Cougars to the Wapiti League regular season title and the eighth-place trophy at last weeks state tournament in Monmouth.

Two of her players were named to the all-league first team: her daughter, Amanda Wilson, and Laura Lewis.

Other first-teamers were Ashley Anderson of Enterprise, Melissa Helmer and Jana Brotherton of Union and Tiffany Rasmussen of Imbler.

Second-teamers were Kazzie Dawson and Cami Conrad of Enterprise, Lizzy Woody of Imbler, Deleah Wiles of Elgin, Lea Ganos of Joseph and Sarah Bomberger and Kallin Prince of Union.

Honorable mention was given to Tina Stitzel of Wallowa, Ashley Rysdam of Elgin, Amy Clerget of Imbler, Erin Moody of Nyssa, Anna Yost of Joseph, and Michelle May and Cory Carnahan of Pine Eagle.


Three players each from Powder Valley and Cove high schools, which met in this years Class 1A state championship game, were named to the all-Old Oregon League volleyball first team.

Cove, which won the championship Saturday over Powder, had first-teamers Kelcie Robinson, Lisa Scheele and Melissa Smith. Powder had first-teamers Ashley Wisdom, Amanda Bingham and Cali Taylor.

Other first-teamers were LaDawn Jordan of Adrian, Emily Mackenzie of Jordan Valley, Megan Maher of Crane and Mindy Voigt and Hope Denton of Prairie City.

Powder Valley also had three players on the second team: Joelle Bain, Lacey Kasper and Chelsi Pedro. Coves Amy Puckett also made the second team.

Powder Valleys Jayme Simonis and Amie Russell and Coves Kathy Mann were given honorable mention.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Local / Sports / Business / State / National / Obituaries / Public Notices
Editorials / Letters / Guest Columns / Columnists
Outdoors / Ag / Spiritual / Go Magazine / Portraits
View all classifieds / Jobs / Autos / Real Estate / Rentals / Place an Ad
The Observer
About / Contact / Commercial Printing / Subscriptions / Terms of Use / Site Map
Also Online
Photo Reprints / Slideshows / Weather and Valley Cam / /index.php?option=com_rss&feed=RSS2.0&no_html=1">RSS Feed ?> RSS Feed

Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use

LaGrandeObserver.com works best with the latest versions of Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer or Apple Safari

viagra 100mg hinta viagra køb uden recept viagra zu verkaufen comprar cialis em portugal viagra recept kamagra barata viagra in holland kaufen comparaison cialis viagra viagra rapide viagra kaufen türkei viagra generico preço cialis par internet acheter clomid precios viagra levitra verkoop cialis a vendre montreal levitra niederlande cialis original kaufen acquistare viagra sicuro viagra rezeptfrei preisvergleich