>La Grande Observer | Union and Wallowa Counties' News Leader

Observer news NE Oregon Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Follow LaGrandeObserver.com

La Grande Observer print edition

view all La Grande Observer print publications »

La Grande Observer Paper 07/09/14

The LaGrande Observer is now online in a Replica E-edition form and publishes Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Current subscribers have full access to the E-edition.

View Paper

If you are not a current subscriber, subscribe today for immediate access.


AP Sports Video

To view this site, you need to have Flash Player 8.0 or later installed. Click here to get the latest Flash player.

Recent article comments

Powered by Disqus



FAST ON THE COURSE: Eastern Oregon's Tim Riley won the 4K Saturday, while the Eastern women had seven finish in the top 10. (The Observer/RAENELLE KWOCK).
FAST ON THE COURSE: Eastern Oregon's Tim Riley won the 4K Saturday, while the Eastern women had seven finish in the top 10. (The Observer/RAENELLE KWOCK).

The Eastern Oregon men and women won their cross country open Saturday.

Whitman College and Treasure Valley Community College also fielded teams.

The women ran 3,200 meters, while the men ran a 4K.

Eastern Oregon coach Ben Welch said both teams did a good job working on specific things in their races.

On the men's side, the Eastern runners wanted to "hunt as a big pack together," Welch said.

The No. 1-ranked men had nine finishers in the top 10. Tim Riley, Eric Griffiths and Alex McGladrey were 1-2-3.

Eastern assistant coach Pat McCurry ran unattached and took fourth.

Michael Greenman, Ian Schroeder and Brian Crowl finished 5-6-7.

Sean Williams ran unattached and finished eight.

Pat Egelus came in ninth.

On the women's side, Eastern worked on tightening up gaps, Welch said.

He said with the shorter distance the women were able to get out harder or back off early or close out harder, whatever they were working on.

Welch said it was the closest the women have been all year through two miles.

"The key to their success is having a tighter group," Welch said.

The No. 18-ranked women had seven finishes in the top 10.

Eastern's Kelsey Jones was second (11:54.27), Jessyca Barker third (12:25.21), Stephanie Colkitt fourth (12:46.34), Shannon Edwards fifth (12:56.83), Rian Finney sixth (13:00.05), Jessica Johnston seventh (13:09.50) and Shawna Muchow 10th (13:15.24).

The Eastern cross country team will head to the Spokane Community College Invitational Saturday, while the men will compete at the Arkansas Invitational in Fayetteville, Ark.

—Raenelle Kwock

Eastern Oregon University Open


Eastern results only


Team scores — Eastern Oregon 20, Whitman College 41, Treasure Valley Community College 79.

3,200-meter run — 2, Kelsey Jones, 11:54.27; 3, Jessyca Barker, 12:25.21; 4, Stephanie Colkitt, 12:46.34; 5, Shannon Edwards, 12:56.83; 6, Rian Finney, 13:00.05; 7, Jessica Johnston, 13:09.50; 10, Shawna Muchow, 13:15.24; 11, Lauren Plymire, 13:17.80; 14, Nicole Woitovitch, 14:04.28; 15, Laura Mortenson, 14:06.45; 19, Ashley Zacharias, 15:17.37; 22, Shelby Zacharias, 16:03.62.


Team scores — Eastern Oregon 15, Treasure Valley 59, Whitman College 68.

4K — 1, Tim Riley, 12:21.36; 2, Eric Griffiths, 12:27.90; 3, Alex McGladrey, 12:33.57; 5, Michael Greenman, 12:37.85; 6, Ian Schroeder, 12:41.30; 7, Brian Crowl, 12:43.32; 9, Pat Egelus, 12:59.11; 13, Samuel Wambugu, 13:21.41; 14, Joshua Ego, 13:29.38; 16, Jacob Haas, 13:33.15; 20, Nicholas Fikes, 13:43.34; 28, Ben Carpenter, 14:03.02.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Local / Sports / Business / State / National / Obituaries / Public Notices
Editorials / Letters / Guest Columns / Columnists
Outdoors / Ag / Spiritual / Go Magazine / Portraits
View all classifieds / Jobs / Autos / Real Estate / Rentals / Place an Ad
The Observer
About / Contact / Commercial Printing / Subscriptions / Terms of Use / Site Map
Also Online
Photo Reprints / Slideshows / Weather and Valley Cam / /index.php?option=com_rss&feed=RSS2.0&no_html=1">RSS Feed ?> RSS Feed

Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use

LaGrandeObserver.com works best with the latest versions of Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer or Apple Safari