>La Grande Observer | Union and Wallowa Counties' News Leader

Observer news NE Oregon Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Follow LaGrandeObserver.com

La Grande Observer print edition

view all La Grande Observer print publications »

La Grande Observer Daily paper 10/24/14

The LaGrande Observer is now online in a Replica E-edition form and publishes Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Current subscribers have full access to the E-edition.

View Paper

If you are not a current subscriber, subscribe today for immediate access.


Recent article comments

Powered by Disqus

Home arrow Opinion arrow Griffin shares POY honor


Griffin shares POY honor

The postseason awards were finalized, and it ended with something everyone already knew —Imbler running back Joe Griffin had an amazing football season. 

The junior was named Co-player of the Year for Class 1A. He shared the honor with Josh Cardwell, a senior, of Lowell. 

Griffin finished the season with 2,203 yards on the ground on 188 carries, for an 11.7 yards per carry average. He had 41 touchdowns on the ground. 

He also caught 37 passes for 1,032 yards with 18 touchdowns on the season. He finished the year with 63 total touchdowns, which is the second-best season nationally.  Corey Eikmeier, of Dodge High School in Nebraska, is first in the nation, scoring 67 total touchdowns in 2002.

Imbler capped its season by winning its second state title, defeating Lowell 88-76. Griffin ran for 335 yards and four touchdowns in the championship game. He also caught four passes for 139 yards with three touchdowns. Griffin also returned two kickoffs for touchdowns.

In the championship game, Cardwell had 217 yards with four touchdowns on the ground. He added 166 passing yards and a pair of touchdowns.

Imbler head coach Lee Lowe was selected as the Head Coach of the Year.

Imbler’s Kyle Johnson was a first-team selection as a quarterback. Johnson played with two first-team members blocking for him. Cole Campbell earned the selection as a guard, while Reed Graves made the list as a center.

Powder Valley’s Tyler Robinson was an honorable mention selection as a wide receiver.

The Panthers also had representation on the other side of the ball. Campbell was a first team selection as a defensive end, while Griffin was a first team defensive back.

Imbler’s Cody Swalberg, a junior, made the second team as a linebacker.

Cove’s Chad Witty made the honorable mention team on the defensive line as a sophomore.

First team


Quarterback: Kyle Johnson, sr., Imbler; Josh Cardwell, sr., Lowell. Running back: Joe Griffin, jr., Imbler; Tanner Harvey, jr., Lowell. Wide Receiver: Alex Norris, jr., Lowell; Caleb Lindsey, sr., Camas Valley. Guards: Cole Campbell, sr., Imbler; Gabe Anderson, sr., Lowell. Center: Reed Graves, jr., Imbler. 

Second team

Quarterback: Josh Maddux, sr., Camas Valley. Running back: Weston Tilton, sr., Camas Valley; Tyler Smith, soph., St. Paul. Wide Receiver: Jake Little, jr., Dufur; Keenan Wood, sr., St. Paul. Guards: Matt Thompson, sr., Camas Valley; Zach Adams, sr., St. Paul. Center: Grant Chapman, jr., Lowell. 

Honorable Mention

Quarterback: Cole Park, sr., Dufur. Running back: Austin McGew, sr., Triad; Tyler Opie, sr., Crane; Geoff Payne, sr., Yoncalla. Wide Receiver: Tyler Robinson, sr., Powder Valley; Shane Miller, sr., Adrian; Chad Stienhauser, sr., Triangle Lake. Guards: Michael Casey, sr., Crane; Brent Sumner, jr., Dufur. Center: Austin Olsen, sr., Dufur; Quinton Nyman, sr., Crane.


First Team

Defensive line: Colin Cash, sr., Lowell; Austin Olson, sr., Dufur. Defensive end: Cole Campbell, sr., Imbler; Matt Thompson, sr., Camas Valley. Linebackers: Tanner Harvey, jr., Lowell; Kai Wolfe, jr., Camas Valley. Defensive backs: Joe Griffin, jr., Imbler; Cole Park, sr., Dufur.

Second Team

Defensive line: Chase Walker, jr., Adrian; Michael Casey, sr., Crane. Defensive end: Austin McNicols, sr., Lowell; Trevor Tibbets, jr., Dufur. Linebackers: Brad Dancer, sr., Camas Valley; Cody Swalberg, sr., Imbler. Defensive backs: Jake Little, jr., Dufur; Stuart Teaford, sr., Triad.

Honorable Mention

Defensive line: Zach Starr, sr., Perrydale; Chad Witty, soph., Cove. Defensive end: Jett McCoy, jr., Adrian; Keenan Wood, sr., St. Paul. Linebackers: Austin McGrew, sr., Triad; Nick Gooding, jr., St. Paul. Defensive backs: Colton Winters, sr., Dayville/Monument; Troy Villereal, jr., Adrian. 

Player of the Year: Joe Griffin, junior, Imbler; Josh Cardwell, sr., Lowell.

Coach of the Year: Lee Lowe, Imbler.


blog comments powered by Disqus
Local / Sports / Business / State / National / Obituaries / Public Notices
Editorials / Letters / Guest Columns / Columnists
Outdoors / Ag / Spiritual / Go Magazine / Portraits
View all classifieds / Jobs / Autos / Real Estate / Rentals / Place an Ad
The Observer
About / Contact / Commercial Printing / Subscriptions / Terms of Use / Site Map
Also Online
Photo Reprints / Slideshows / Weather and Valley Cam / /index.php?option=com_rss&feed=RSS2.0&no_html=1">RSS Feed ?> RSS Feed

Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use

http://www.ville-tence.fr/?cmJ=G2734&cmC... http://www.ville-tence.fr/?cmJ=G2875&cmC... zantac pharmacie generique plavix winthrop commande zyprexa metronidazole sans ordonnance
buy office 2007 student version cheapest powerpoint 2003 http://opencourses.emu.edu.tr/cohort/upd...
http://www.fiabci-asiapacific.com/?indus... http://www.fiabci-asiapacific.com/?indus... http://www.fiabci-asiapacific.com/?indus... microsoft office 2007 price australia adobe photoshop cs3 price purchase office 2007 professional
buy generic propecia 
champix without a prescription generic viagra from india viagra tablet http://www.ncld.org/?pk_n=5853&pk_kwd=40... cheapest adobe cs4 design premium