>La Grande Observer | Union and Wallowa Counties' News Leader

Observer news NE Oregon Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Follow LaGrandeObserver.com

La Grande Observer print edition

view all La Grande Observer print publications »

The Observer Paper 12/22/14

The LaGrande Observer is now online in a Replica E-edition form and publishes Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Current subscribers have full access to the E-edition.

View Paper

If you are not a current subscriber, subscribe today for immediate access.


Recent article comments

Powered by Disqus

Home arrow Opinion arrow Harris named District 7 player of the year


Harris named District 7 player of the year

Elgin’s Justin Harris was tabbed as the Special District 7 player of the year recently when the postseason awards were announced.

Harris is one of just five seniors out of the 31 players to receive honors.

Harris was also named a first-team catcher along with Union/Cove’s Brenlon Moore, also a senior.

Harris had one heck of a senior campaign at the plate, behind the plate and on the mound.

For the season he hit .418 with three home runs and 19 RBIs in 55 recorded at-bats.

On the mound, Harris finished 5-2 for the 11-8 Huskies, recording a 1.82 ERA.

He had 82 strikeouts in 50 innings pitched.

Harris ended his high school career with a one-hit, 17 strikeout game in a 5-0 victory against Pine Eagle.

Many other local players were also named to the Special District 7 all-league team.

Wallowa/Imbler’s Andrew Fullerton (senior) and Union/Cove’s Kaleb Poor both were named first-team pitchers.

Elgin’s Kyle Ludwig (senior) made the first team at first base, while Dalton Opie of Union/Cove and Wes McDaniel of Wallowa/Imbler were honorable mentions.

First-team infielders included Union/Cove’s Ty Coon and Braxten Anderson, Elgin’s Blu Risseeuw and Wallowa/Imbler’s Wesley Conrad.  

Union/Cove’s Brazin Wellington, along with Kody Swift and Casey Robertson of Wallowa/Imbler were all second-team infield selections.

Andrew Naughton of Elgin was an honorable mention.

In the outfield, Chris Ross of Union/Cove and Sheldon Blair of Elgin recieved first-team honors, while D.J. Lizotte  of Elgin and Wallowa/Imbler’s Joe Griffin and Kyle Johnson were named to the second team.

Union/Cove’s Marshall Short (senior) earned first-team designated hitter.

Casey Furgerson of Elgin was second-team designated hitter, and Reed Graves of Wallowa/Imbler was honorable mention.

Union/Cove coach Greg Poor was named the league’s coach of the year after leading a very young Bobcats squad to a share of the league title and a berth in the state playoffs.

Union/Cove finished 12-10 overall and 9-3 in the Special District 7.

The league also had 11 players named to all-state teams at the 2A/1A level.

Harris (catcher), Fullerton (infield) and Kaleb Poor (utility) were all first-team all-state selections.

Coon (infield) and Blair (outfield) made second team all-state.

Ludwig (first base), Risseeuw (infield), Ross (outfield) and Pine Eagle’s Colter Marks (outfield) earned third-team honors.

Moore (catcher) and Conrad (infield) were honorable mentions.





blog comments powered by Disqus
Local / Sports / Business / State / National / Obituaries / Public Notices
Editorials / Letters / Guest Columns / Columnists
Outdoors / Ag / Spiritual / Go Magazine / Portraits
View all classifieds / Jobs / Autos / Real Estate / Rentals / Place an Ad
The Observer
About / Contact / Commercial Printing / Subscriptions / Terms of Use / Site Map
Also Online
Photo Reprints / Slideshows / Weather and Valley Cam / /index.php?option=com_rss&feed=RSS2.0&no_html=1">RSS Feed ?> RSS Feed

Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use

cialis preis schweiz cialis comprare online viagra verschreibungspflichtig