>La Grande Observer | Union and Wallowa Counties' News Leader

Observer news NE Oregon Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Follow LaGrandeObserver.com

La Grande Observer print edition

view all La Grande Observer print publications »

The Observer 11/17/14

The LaGrande Observer is now online in a Replica E-edition form and publishes Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Current subscribers have full access to the E-edition.

View Paper

If you are not a current subscriber, subscribe today for immediate access.


Recent article comments

Powered by Disqus




Shelby Hasse with theLa Grande Majors struck out 16 Baker batters asLa Grande won 9-5. (Observer photos/PIERRE LaBOSSIERE).
Shelby Hasse with theLa Grande Majors struck out 16 Baker batters asLa Grande won 9-5. (Observer photos/PIERRE LaBOSSIERE).

ELGIN — La Grande and Union County Little League teams were almost as scorching as the weather Wednesday.

The Union County Seniors came from behind to qualify for state, while the La Grande Majors and Juniors got spectacular pitching performances to win.

Off to State

The Union County Seniors were down 4-1 early, but rallied to beat Pendleton 11-9. It was the second straight come-from-behind win for Union County, and the girls qualified for the Oregon state tournament in Parkrose beginning July 24.

Kara Mann pitched the victory, giving up six hits and striking out nine.

Christina McGilvray had two doubles while Mandy Griffin had two clutch hits.

La Grande Majors

La Grande pitcher Shelby Hasse struck out 16 Baker batters in a 9-5 win.

This was not an easy win. Baker held a 5-3 lead in the fifth inning, but La Grande rallied for five runs. The big damage in the inning was done by Alyssa Johnson, who had a two-run hit to give La Grande the lead for good.

Cami Bell, Shayla Powers both had two hits.

The La Grande Majors played Union County at 11:30 today.

La Grande Minors

Not to be outdone, Minors pitcher Kelly Walker struck out 18 Milton-Freewater batters, according to coach Jason Brookshire.

Still, it was a close game, with La Grande eking out a tight 8-7 win.

"It was a battle the whole game," said Brookshire.

Some of the Minors girls got sick to their stomachs from the heat, but the girls were rewarded for their win with an early game today. The Minors played at 9 a.m. today against Baker.

La Grande Juniors

The La Grande Juniors beat Triangle 12-0. Lindsey Willis and Tasha Tams combined for the shutout.

Rachelle Winterton hit two doubles, while Willis had three singles and a triple and scored three runs.

Jennifer Denny got on base four times with a single and three walks, while Carley Miller had a double and a single, Jennifer Moore two hits and Amanda Sarrett two hits.

The La Grande Juniors play at 4:30 p.m. today against Baker.

Union County Majors

The Union County Majors beat Pilot Rock 4-1. Kacie Merrigan pitched five innings, striking out six, for the win. Jessica Reynolds pitched the sixth inning for the save.

Chelsea Poe had two hits and scored two runs, while Tara Ludwig, Julie Barrows, Meagan McCabe and Cheyenne McDaniels all had RBIs.

Union County and La Grande played at 11:30 a.m. today.

Union County Juniors

The Union County Juniors were beaten yesterday by Baker 26-2.


blog comments powered by Disqus
Local / Sports / Business / State / National / Obituaries / Public Notices
Editorials / Letters / Guest Columns / Columnists
Outdoors / Ag / Spiritual / Go Magazine / Portraits
View all classifieds / Jobs / Autos / Real Estate / Rentals / Place an Ad
The Observer
About / Contact / Commercial Printing / Subscriptions / Terms of Use / Site Map
Also Online
Photo Reprints / Slideshows / Weather and Valley Cam / /index.php?option=com_rss&feed=RSS2.0&no_html=1">RSS Feed ?> RSS Feed

Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use

discount windows 7 for students buy adobe premiere elements 12 canada windows 7 ultimate cheapest price http://www.taftcollege.edu/academic/math... microsoft 2013 student discount buy windows 7 multiple license discount adobe acrobat xi http://isa.univ-tours.fr/index.php?searc... cheap windows xp for sale
cheap adobe photoshop elements 6 purchase ms office 2010 professional purchase microsoft excel mac
  • http://ncea-linux.usq.edu.au/ipart/graph... http://ncea-linux.usq.edu.au/ipart/graph... cheap corel draw software
  • http://www.ueapme.com/?hosturl=5325&gray... apple final cut price discount windows xp professional
      price of windows 7 enterprise edition price of photoshop elements 12 mac http://science.upm.edu.my/biology/index1...