>La Grande Observer | Union and Wallowa Counties' News Leader

La Grande, OR forecast
& Eastern Oregon University Valley Cam

Observer news NE Oregon Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Follow LaGrandeObserver.com

Today's front page

Image of The Observer's Front Page

Get Home Delivery of The Observer for only $8.50 per month, $9.50 for motor routes. Just click here and after filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more information about local, state and world news.

manage your account »

Recent article comments

Powered by Disqus



CHAMPION: La Grande's Chris Tinnin, right, won the 160-pound championship Saturday. (The Observer/RAENELLE KWOCK).
CHAMPION: La Grande's Chris Tinnin, right, won the 160-pound championship Saturday. (The Observer/RAENELLE KWOCK).

By Raenelle Kwock

Observer Staff Writer

La Grande's Chris Tinnin won the 160-pound championship at the Oregon Trail — Brian Muilenburg Invitational Wrestling Tournament Saturday.

"It's a good feeling," he said. "It's a neat tournament. It feels great."

Tinnin defeated Tanner Smith of Pendleton 9-1 in the final.

He won his opening match over Pendleton's Dustin Wunder. Then he pinned Umatilla's Buddy Taylor.

Tinnin pinned Burns' Cody Johnson and defeated Weiser's Kamren Pratt 4-0 in the semifinal.

"I think I wrestled well," Tinnin said. "I felt good on the two days."

He said having a home tournament was a big plus.

"I think the team did great," Tinnin said.

La Grande coach Matt Wolcott said Tinnin controlled every match.

Four other La Grande wrestlers were in the semifinals — D.J. May (112 pounds) Jeremy Blakely (140), Michael Godfrey (152) and Dennis O'Reilly (171). Three La Grande wrestlers were in the third-fourth place bracket — Dino May (145), Jared Blakely (160) and Tyrell Grove (215).

D.J. May and Tinnin were the only La Grande wrestlers to place in the top four.

Freshman D.J. May was second in the 112-pound class.

"He had a great tournament for a freshman," Wolcott said.

Wolcott said May's parents told him that was the best he has wrestled in a few years.

D.J. May was pinned by Tommie Hooper of Burns in the final. Hooper was named the outstanding wrestler of the tournament.

D.J. May pinned Sky View's Casey Steffani in his opening match, then beat Barlow's John Sayson 10-5. He pinned Pendleton's C.J. Kunkle before beating Burns' Levi Root 7-4 in the semifinals.

Wolcott said La Grande's semifinalists wrestled hard and gave it their best.

On Friday, all the La Grande wrestlers won their first-round matches.

Powder Valley's Zac Whitford (140) lost to Wayne Williams in the consolation final.

Wallowa's Patrick Silveria (189) was pinned by Eugene Markgraf of Baker in the consolation final.

Pendleton won the tournament with 357 points.

Oregon Trail-Brian Muilenburg Invitational Wrestling Tournament


Team scores —Pendleton 357, Burns 233, Weiser 223.5, Barlow 212, Sky View 204.5, The Dalles 177.5, Capital 158.5, Mountain View 148, Baker 128, La Grande 110.5, McLoughlin 95.5, Lewiston 80, Umatilla 34, Powder Valley 27.5, Wallowa 26.5, Union 23, Enterprise 18.

103 — 1, Tyler Swartzlender, Burns; 2, Alex Vickers, Sky View; 3, Brenden Sollman, The Dalles; 4, Sean Johnson, Barlow; Consolation, Brandon Caswell, Pendleton.

112 — 1, Tommie Hooper, Burns; 2, D.J. May, La Grande; 3, Jesse Christensen, Baker; 4, Albert Cervantes, The Dalles; Consolation, Nick Gettmann, McLoughlin.

119 — 1, Tyler Kelkenny, Pendleton; 2, Carlos Holleman, The Dalles; 3, Kenny Melton, Pendleton; 4, Keaton Nelson, Sky View; Consolation, Anton Armenta, Umatilla.

125 — 1, Dustin Packard, Mountain View; 2, Seth Cox, Pendleton; 3, Casey Carpenter, Baker; 4, Dyllan Whiting, Sky View; Consolation, Nathan Stampke, Burns.

130 — 1, Justin Carter, Pendleton; 2, Tyler Moore, Sky View; 3, Matt Noble, Weiser; 4, Chance Peila, Burns; Consolation, Robert Grode, Mountain View.

135 — 1, Bruce Allphin, Barlow; 2, Michael Preciado, The Dalles; 3, Lane Whiting, Sky View; 4, Seth Franklin, Burns; Consolation, Ross Weatherspoon, Baker.

140 — 1, Jerry Cobb, Weiser; 2, Brandon Holzwart, Sky View; 3, Cody Campbell, Pendleton; 4, Jeff Klaassen, Barlow; Consolation, Wayne Williams, McLoughlin.

145 — 1, Joel Christensen, Baker; 2, Skyler Pettengill, Mountain View; 3, Isaac Holeman, The Dalles; 4, Carsten White, Mountain View; Consolation, Jon Staab, Lewiston.

152 — 1, Talon Hofman, Burns; 2, Markus Dunfee, Pendleton; 3, Derek Mestrovich, Sky View; 4, Luke Stout, Weiser; Consolation, Blake Nelson, McLoughlin.

160 — 1, Chris Tinnin, La Grande; 2, Tanner Smith, Pendleton; 3, Kamren Pratt, Weiser; 4, Cody Johnson, Burns; Consolation, Steve Cooke, Baker.

171 — 1, Abe Jacobs, Burns; 2, David Thompson, Capital; 3, Brad Lawrence, Pendleton; 4, Bryce Svedin, Weiser; Consolation, Josh Rau, Barlow.

189 —1, Clay Wunder, Pendleton; 2, Justin Williams, Pendleton; 3, Bret Bossout, Burns; 4, Zack Pearson, Weiser; Consolation, Eugene Markgraf, Baker.

215 — 1, Scott Keleher, Capital; 2, Joe Williams, Pendleton; 3, Heath Paxton, Baker; 4, Nick O'Neill, McLoughlin; Consolation, Michael Routson, Weiser.

275 — 1, Sean Orr, Pendleton; 2, Randy Feigner, Barlow; 3, Nate Johnson, Mountain View; 4, Kyle Watkins, Lewiston; Consolation, Steve Finlayson, Capital.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Local / Sports / Business / State / National / Obituaries / Public Notices
Editorials / Letters / Guest Columns / Columnists
Outdoors / Ag / Spiritual / Go Magazine / Portraits
View all classifieds / Jobs / Autos / Real Estate / Rentals / Place an Ad
The Observer
About / Contact / Commercial Printing / Subscriptions / Terms of Use / Site Map
Also Online
Photo Reprints / Slideshows / Weather and Valley Cam / /index.php?option=com_rss&feed=RSS2.0&no_html=1">RSS Feed ?> RSS Feed

Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use

LaGrandeObserver.com works best with the latest versions of Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer or Apple Safari