>La Grande Observer | Union and Wallowa Counties' News Leader

La Grande, OR forecast
& Eastern Oregon University Valley Cam

Observer news NE Oregon Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Follow LaGrandeObserver.com

Recent article comments

Powered by Disqus

Home arrow Online arrow Photos arrow UPSHAW CRUISES IN ENTERPRISE RACE


WINNER IN ENTERPRISE: Union's Stephanie Upshaw won the Enterprise Invitational cross country race Tuesday at the Alpine Meadows Golf Course. (The Observer file photo/PAT PERKINS).
WINNER IN ENTERPRISE: Union's Stephanie Upshaw won the Enterprise Invitational cross country race Tuesday at the Alpine Meadows Golf Course. (The Observer file photo/PAT PERKINS).

By The Observer

Enterprise The Stanfield boys and Union girls turned in strong performances Tuesday at the Enterprise Invitational cross country meet at the Alpine Meadows Golf Course.

Behind winner Troy Blackburn, Stanfield threw its hat into the ring as a contender for the district title later this month.

Stanfield won pretty easily, Enterprise coach Dan Moody said. They looked real strong.

Blackburn won the 5,000-meter race in 17 minutes, 25 seconds, more than a half-minute ahead of Union freshman Billy Garrison, who turned in a solid time of his own at 18 minutes flat.

Enterprises Austin Himes was third at 18:03 and Wallowas Patrick Smergut was fourth at 18:20.

The Union girls, fresh off a breakthrough showing Saturday in Richland, Wash., took advantage of a sickness-weakened girls field and had three of the top four runners. Stephanie Upshaw won in 20:42, with Shannon Mitchell second at 20:58 and Ashley Sharratt fourth at 22:20.

Union is just as strong as ever, Moody said.

Wallowas Larae Guillory was third at 21:59.

Enterprise was second in the boys race, with Wallowa third and Union fourth among the four complete teams. Garrisons performance Tuesday gives Union a boost in the race for the top two spots at district, both of which qualify for next months state meet.

Weve got our work cut out for us, Moody said.

Enterprise hosts the pre-district meet Oct. 19 at McKay Park in Pendleton. All area teams except La Grande are scheduled to compete. The Tigers are scheduled to compete Friday in Pendleton.

Enterprise Invitational

Tuesday, at Alpine Meadows Golf Course


Team scores Union 19, Stanfield 40, Wallowa inc., Enterprise inc., Stanfield inc., Joseph inc., Elgin inc., Weston-McEwen inc.

Individual results 1, Stephanie Upshaw, Union, 20:42; 2, Shannon Mitchell, U, 20:58; 3, Larae Guillory, Wallowa, 21:59; 4, Ashley Sharratt, U, 22:20; 5, Linnaea Kibler, Enterprise, 22:52; 6, Brita Blackburg, Stanfield, 23:37; 7, Kara Baxter, U, 23:38; 8, Dena Tsiatsos, W, 23:39; 9, Cierra Jones, Joseph, 24:26; 10, Rosa Batista, S, 24:35; 11, Nicole Cook, S, 24:43; 12, Keely Hopkins, En, 24:47; 13, Sam Granberg, Elgin, 24:59; 14, Rosa Goodman, U, 25:14; 15, Deborah Hachen, U, 25:35; 16, Katie Todd, Weston-McEwen, 25:36; 17, Jill Vorderstrasse, U, 25:47; 18, Carrie Davis, WM, 25:51; 19, Brandi Bowman, En, 26:07; 20, Rebecca Dobos, WM, 26:15; 21, Teah Beglau, W, 26:45; 22, Jamie Powney, S, 26:45; 23, Norma Madrigal, S, 28:27; 24, Danielle Weatherman, S, 29:05; 25, Laura Stauffer, El, 29:17.


Team scores Stanfield 35, Enterprise 53, Wallowa 55, Union 79, Pilot Rock inc., La Grande inc., Weston-McEwen inc., Joseph inc.

Individual results 1, Troy Blackburn, Stanfield, 17:25; 2, Billy Garrison, Union, 18:00; 3, Austin Himes, Enterprise, 18:03; 4, Patrick Smergut, Wallowa, 18:20; 5, Bobby Christensen, Pilot Rock, 18:25; 6, Ben Shewett, S, 18:40; 7, Chuy Perches, S, 18:42; 8, Connor Ross, La Grande, 18:45; 9, Michael Swart, En, 18:48; 10, Chris Tsiatsos, W, 18:49; 11, Brandon Casper, W, 18:53; 12, George Madrigal, S, 18:54; 13, Nick Johnson, W, 18:56; 14, Chris Lozier, En, 18:57; 15, Andrew Kiemnec, LG, 19:00; 16, Garrett Hansel, WM, 19:12; 17, Ramon Lopez, S, 19:12; 18, Jared Baxter, U, 19:17; 19, Willie Grover, En, 19:17; 20, Andy Vernarsky, En, 19:39; 21, Dan Warburton, U, 19:41; 22, Kyle Bollman, En, 19:49; 23, Nathan Perry, U, 19:51; 24, Andrew Gorbett, En, 19:52; 25, Bryn Lunde, Joseph, 20:05; 26, Drew Abercrombie, S, 20:15; 27, Terry Wyckoff, S, 20:15; 28, Chris Bond, LG, 20:16; 29, Alex Kostyukov, S, 20:24; 30, Caleb Pringle, W, 20:27; 31, Brandon Kiser, En, 20:40; 32, Josh Steenstra, U, 20:41; 33, Brad Cook, S, 20:48; 34, Doug Watson, WM, 20:49; 35, Jake Layton, J, 21:14; 36, Tristan Gorselein, J, 21:18; 37, Dan Tucker, WM, 21:22; 38, Jason Speer, S, 21:33; 39, Alex Pages, S, 21:35; 40, Monty Davis, WM, 21:54; 41, Jake Kasparek, LG, 22:31; 42, Saul Christensen, PR, 22:38; 43, James Nash, E, 22:54; 44, Lee Phelps, W, 23:04; 45, Derek Layton, J, 23:20.

Local / Sports / Business / State / National / Obituaries / Public Notices
Editorials / Letters / Guest Columns / Columnists
Outdoors / Ag / Spiritual / Go Magazine / Portraits
View all classifieds / Jobs / Autos / Real Estate / Rentals / Place an Ad
The Observer
About / Contact / Commercial Printing / Subscriptions / Terms of Use / Site Map
Also Online
Photo Reprints / Slideshows / Weather and Valley Cam / /index.php?option=com_rss&feed=RSS2.0&no_html=1">RSS Feed ?> RSS Feed

Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Follow La Grande Observer headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use

LaGrandeObserver.com works best with the latest versions of Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer or Apple Safari

  • cialis preise apotheke viagra acheter clomid prezzo cialis senza prescrizione medica medicinale viagra cialis original kaufen viagra ohne rezept bestellen kamagra oral jelly billig dapoxetin schweiz vente viagra paris
    1. cialis in holland kaufen acheter tadalafil france billig viagra bestellen cialis pris apotek achat viagra femme achat viagra forum osta viagraa viagra da 25 mg acquistare viagra senza ricetta cialis allemagne