March 22, 2002 11:00 pm

In celebration of Eastern Oregon Regional Arts Councils 25th anniversary, EORAC will sponsor an Oregon Symphony concert when the Meyer Memorial Trust/NEA Regional Tour brings the orchestra here.

Acclaimed Music Director and Conductor James DePreist has led the orchestra to a national reputation of quality over the past 21 years. The Oregon Symphony has been ranked first class by Gramophone and a virtuoso ensemble by The Washington Post.

Giancarlo Guerrero will conduct the Oregon Symphonys regional tour. Guerrero is a regular guest conductor with symphony orchestras and opera companies throughout the United States and Latin America. Guerrero was invited in October by the New York Philharmonic to serve as cover conductor for future subscription performances.

Guerrero has recently been named music director of the Eugene Symphony Orchestra. He will begin his tenure as Eugenes music director in 2002-2003, while continuing his associate conductor duties with the Minnesota Orchestra.

The symphony will present an evening concert April 12 at 7:30 at Eastern Oregon Universitys Loso Hall in Mc Kenzie Theatre. The program for concert will begin with Vaughan Williams overture to The Wasps and include Dvorks Symphony No. 8. Also on the program are Rachmaninoffs Vocalise, Coplands Hoedown from Rodeo, John Williams main title from Star Wars and Chadwicks Jubilee from Symphonic Sketches.

Guerrero also will conduct two pieces by Percy Grainger: Irish Tune from County Derry and Molly on the Shore.

Tickets range in price from $15 for students to $40 for selected seating and pre-concert reception. Tickets may be purchased at Sunflower Books, and EOU Bookstore in La Grande. Tickets are also available at Crossroads Art Center in Baker City, Joseph Bookshop and Pendleton Art Center.

You may also order tickets from EORAC at 962-3624.

The tour is sponsored by Meyer Memorial Trust, the National Endowment for the Arts, US Bank and PacifiCorp Foundation. Educational activities on the tour are supported by the Spirit Mountain Community Fund, the Lamb Foundation, the Oregon Arts Commission and the Patty Vemer Education Fund.