June 06, 2002 11:00 pm

UNION — Brad Gleason of Touchet, Wash., will be recognized at this weekend's Eastern Oregon Livestock Show as last year's winner of the Harley Tucker Rodeo Series Award.

That win gave Gleason the most recent leg toward winning the three-year cumulative pot of more than $8,000. Gleason could get another leg this year.

Rocky Steagle, formerly of Irrigon, won the last three-time purse in 1990, and Butch Knowles of Heppner was the first three-time winner in 1982.

The big plaque presented to series award winners is on display at Union Community Bank this week.

The annual Harley Tucker series requires that the winner participate in the four rodeos that also include the Elgin Stampede, the St. Paul Rodeo and Chief Joseph Days in Joseph. The competitor with the most points in the four shows will receive $1,450.

That extra purse nearly doubled last year when the award series gained a major sponsor —Mountain West Moving and Storage of La Grande owned by Craig and Kay Braseth.

The Braseths again this year have donated $1,500 toward the award in the three rodeos in Union and Wallowa counties.

Other changes last year to the Tucker award series included making cowgirls eligible. Barrel racing and team roping were added to the list of events.

The award's name was also changed from the Harley Tucker Memorial Award. It was founded in 1970 in honor of the late Harley Tucker of Joseph, one of the 1946 founders of Chief Joseph Days. Tucker went on to become one of nation's top rodeo stock contractors.

Tucker died in 1960. In 1980 he was inducted into the Pendleton Roundup Hall of Fame.

In 1997 he was inducted into the National Rodeo Hall of Fame. In 1999 he was inducted into the St. Paul Rodeo Hall of Fame.