September 18, 2002 11:00 pm

Grande Ronde Amateur winners announced

The 8th Annual Grande Ronde Amateur Golf Tournament was played at the La Grande Country Club Sept. 14-15.

Beccy Kramer of Imbler won the women's division with a score of 159. Low net was Sharron Price of La Grande with a 136. She won a playoff with Kim Hulse of La Grande to win the title.

Chris Presley of La Grande finished second as a second low gross with a 168.

In the men's first division, Brad Seaquist of La Grande shot the low gross with a 143, followed by Gregg Corn of Walla Walla with 149.

Stan Park of La Grande won the low net in the first division with a score of 133, followed by Ron Young of La Grande with a 137. In the men's second division, Lee Baker of Yelm, Wash. won low gross with a 173, while Gary Seavert of La Grande finished second with a 175.

Ken Kramer of Imbler won low net in the second division with a score of 122, while Dean Holloway of La Grande was second with a 136.

Elgin volleyball loses in three to Weston-McEwen

ATHENA — The Elgin volleyball team lost to Weston-McEwen 25-17, 25-22, 25-12 Tuesday.

Elgin put 88 percent of its serves into play, with Krista Lampkins and Kimi McCrae each serving 100 percent.

McCrae also had four solo blocks.

Coach LeeAnn Case said that Kristin Thamert and Tiffany Fincher also had great games. Though the Huskies lost in three, Case said it was a good match and that the girls played well together.

The Huskies play at home Friday against Grant Union.