November 14, 2002 11:00 pm

The league and state champion Union volleyball team placed three starters on the Wapiti League first-team this week.

Union hitter Jana Brotherton was named Player of the Year in the Wapiti League, while her coach Patty Herron was named Coach of the Year. Joining Brotherton on the first team were her teammates Melissa Helmer and Kallin Prince.

Imbler's Lizzie Woody and Tiffany Rasmussen also made first team.

Other members of the first team were Grant Union's Abby and Ashley Workman and Amanda Courchesne.

Making the second team were Imbler's Amy Clerget and Leanne Foster, as well as Colbi Robertson of Union. Aki Kawasaki of Enterprise also made the second team. Named onto the honorable mention team were Union's Jennifer Sasser, Joseph's Denae Micka, Enterprise's Jessie Morgan and Elgin's Kim McCrae. Union led the way with six girls named to the three teams. Grant Union, which finished second at the 2A State Tournament last week, had a total of four team members named, as did Imbler. Pine-Eagle had three girls named onto the three teams.