May 24, 2001 11:00 pm

By The Observer

Jimmy Baynes of Joseph and Nick Simons of Elgin have been named to the All-Wapiti League baseball team as first-team pitchers.

Baynes and Simons were one of three first-team selections for each school. Elgin coach Gordy Simons was named coach of the year.

Josephs other first-team picks were catcher Dollen Stroup and outfielder Chris Garrett. Elgin landed second baseman Ryan McKone and outfielder Zac Bouch on the first team.

Union outfielder Shae Prince was his teams only first-team selection.

Joseph had two second-team picks: first baseman Rohs Kuppinger and second baseman Ryan Barstad. Given honorable mention were pitcher Tyler Nall, Stroup as shortstop and Stroup as a utility player.

Elgins second-teamers were third baseman Skyler Payne, shortstop Tyler Davis and outfielder Justin Harris. Given honorable mention was catcher Mike Reagan.

Union third baseman Mike Maley was named to the second team, while Prince was an honorable mention pitcher and shortstop. Union outfielder Tim McReynolds was also given honorable mention.

All-Wapiti League Baseball Team

Coach of the year Gordy Simons, Elgin.

First team

Pitchers Jimmy Baynes, Joseph; Nick Simons, Elgin.

Catcher Dollen Stroup, Joseph.

First baseman Jake Holcomb, Nyssa.

Second basemen Ryan McKone, Elgin; Dean Swanson, Pine Eagle.

Third baseman Johnny Gonzalez, Nyssa.

Shortstop Nick Cudaback, Nyssa.

Outfielders Chris Garrett, Joseph; Zac Bouch, Elgin; Roger Manley, Nyssa.

Utility player Shae Prince, Union.

Designated hitter Bryan Bair, Nyssa.

Second team

Pitchers Shean Lattin, Pine Eagle, Dearl Kite, Nyssa.

Catcher Dearl Kite, Nyssa.

First baseman Rohs Kuppinger, Joseph.

Second basemen Ryan Barstad, Joseph; J.J. Garcia, Nyssa.

Third basemen Mike Maley, Union; Skyler Payne, Elgin.

Shortstops Tyler Davis, Elgin; Nathan Skalsky, Pine Eagle.

Outfielders Justin Harris, Elgin; John Peterson, Pine Eagle; Travis Sapp, Nyssa.

Utility players Josh Winegar, Prairie City; Roger Manley, Nyssa.

Honorable mention

Pitchers Josh Winegar, Prairie City; Shae Prince, Union, Tyler Nall, Joseph; Nick Cudaback, Nyssa.

Catchers Mike Reagan, Elgin; Toby Sciarrino, Pine Eagle; Josh Molton, Prairie City.

First baseman Jay Burril, Prairie City.

Shortstops Dollen Stroup, Joseph; Shae Prince, Union; Jacob Waggoner, Prairie City.

Utility player Dollen Stroup, Joseph.

Outfielders Mitch Holliday, Nyssa; Tim McReynolds, Union.