Union, Enterprise take first-team honors

By Observer staff November 07, 2012 02:05 pm

Dani Sturm - Union
Dani Sturm - Union

The Blue Mountain Conference announced its all-league volleyball selections recently and three local players earned first-team honors.

Union’s Dani Sturm and Kelsey Walenta were joined by Enterprise’s Elsa Steen on the first team.

The Lady Cats went 19-9 this season and had a third-place finish at the BMC district tournament.

Union fell to North Douglas Saturday in the first round of the 2A state playoffs.

Sturm had five kills on 23 hits with zero errors in her final match of her senior campaign.

Kelsey Walenta - Union
Kelsey Walenta - Union

Walenta, also a senior, had eight kills Saturday against the Warriors.

Steen had 10 kills and six blocks in the Lady Outlaws’ four-set loss Oct. 27 to the newest Blue Mountain Conference member, Grant Union. 

The former 3A school placed one player on the first team while grabbing one of the league’s four playoff spots.

Enterprise finished fifth in the BMC standings with a 7-9 league record. 

The Outlaws were 10-13 for the season and finished ranked 22nd among the 2A schools in the final 2A volleyball poll released by the Oregon School Activities Association.

Elsa Steen - Enterprise
Elsa Steen - Enterprise

The four schools ahead of Enterprise in the league standings were all ranked among the nine best schools in the state, led by top-ranked Heppner.

Also earning first-team honors for the league were Heppner’s Alana Wilson, Irrigon’s Tessa McLaughlin and Grant Union’s Kaitlyn Slinkard.

Making up the all-BMC second team are Keegan Shepard and Melanie Sederburg of Weston-McEwen, Emma Osmin of Heppner, Jaylee Lippert and Kyra Adair of Grant Union and Megan Bailey of Stanfield.

Three local players earned honorable mentions.

Union sophomores Bayly Poor and Keesha Sarman both made the team, along with Enterprise’s Myranda McFetridge.

Poor had a team-high 10 kills last week against North Douglas. Sarman, a libero, finished with 21 digs.

McFetridge, a senior, had 25 assists and was 100 percent serving against Grant Union in the district tournament.

Britteny Taylor of Pilot Rock and Kelly Wilson of Heppner were also honorable mentions.

Grant Union’s Hailey McConnell and Weston-McEwen’s McKayla Carlin were the liberos of the year, while Stanfield’s Vanessa Herrera joined Sarman as an honorable mention libero.

Heppner’s Baily Bennett and Weston-McEwen’s Molly von Borstel shared the player of the year award after the Mustangs defeated the TigerScots in the BMC district championship game.

Both Heppner and Weston-McEwen will play this weekend in the quarterfinals of the state tournament. 

The Mustangs go against North Douglas, while the TigerScots face off with Reedsport at the Ridgeview High School gymnasium in Redmond.

Grant Union defeated Bonanza in the first round and will face Days Creek Friday.

Weston-McEwen’s Shawn White was named the BMC coach of the year after his TigerScots went 15-1 in conference competition.