Lackey edges Hartman in council race

November 07, 2012 02:26 pm

Pokorney will return as La Grande mayor; Island City council candidate Bradshaw unseats longtime incumbent  

In one of a scant handful of contested local races this election, John Lackey won a seat on the La Grande City Council.

Lackey, a La Grande businessman, was running for vacant Position 4 against Rebecca Hartman, a professor at Eastern Oregon University. He held a slim lead over his opponent throughout Tuesday night, and in the end won 50.6 percent of the vote to win. Lackey captured 1,887 votes to Hartman’s 1,811.

Also on the La Grande scene, incumbent Mayor Dan Pokorney will return for a second term following Tuesday’s voting. Pokorney’s name was the only one on the mayoral ballot, though he faced a challenge of sorts from write-in candidate Michael Brasure, who campaigned actively during the election season.

“I look forward to working with the council, staff and citizens on economic development and all the challenges we will face every step of the way,” Pokorney said this morning.

Pokorney noted that with Lackey moving into the vacant seat, the council numbers a full-strength seven again. Position Four had been vacant several months since the resignation of Councilor Silas Kelty.

“It’s amazing that when we had six we never had a tie vote,” Pokorney said.

The Union County Clerk’s office reported 450 write-in votes in the mayor’s race. Some 3,197 people cast their vote for the incumbent.

Two other La Grande City Council races were uncontested. Kelly McGee will return to Position 2, and John Bozarth remains in Position 1.

In Island City, businessman and pottery artist Kevin Bradshaw was successful in his bid to unseat long-time incumbent Harry Thomas for Position 3 on the Island City City Council. Bradshaw garnered 263 votes, or 62.7 percent of the total. Some 154 Island City residents — 36.7 percent — voted for Thomas.

Island City Mayor Dale DeLong and City Councilors Robb Rea and Kevin Hampton all were up for re-election this year, and all ran unopposed.

In Elgin, City Councilor Brent Linville walked unopposed into the mayor’s position vacated this year by John Stover. Allan Duffy, Kathy Warren and A. Scott Abernathy were voted on to the city council in a best-three-out-of-four race. Candidate Richard Mackie was eliminated.

This election’s Union County-level races were all uncontested. The unopposed candidates included Commissioner Mark Davidson, Sheriff Boyd Rasmussen, Treasurer Donna Marshall and Clerk Robin Church.