EOU lands four on conference first team

By Observer Upload November 26, 2012 01:19 pm
WHITEFISH, Mont. — The Eastern Oregon University football team had four players selected to the Frontier Conference first team when the awards were released recently.

Linebacker Howard McDonald was named the conference’s defensive player of the year after finishing with 162 total tackles, four sacks and an interception.

McDonald was joined on the defensive first team by cornerback Tristan Askew.

The sophomore from Kent, Wash., had 48 total tackles and four interceptions this season.

Senior Will Hunter was named a first-team offensive lineman, while junior Kedrick Starr earned first-team honors as a punt returner and second-team honors as a kick returner.

Starr averaged 15.2 yards per punt return this season and had one touchdown. He also had 14 kick returns for a total of 328 yards.

The Mountaineers had seven players receive postseason

Freshman Jace Billingsley was named a second-team receiver, junior Wes Orr was named a second-team defensive lineman and freshman Paul Blakely was named second-team punter.

Southern Oregon’s Austin Dodge earned the offensive player of the year while Montana Tech’s Chuck Morrell was selected coach of the year.