Panthers lead pack in all-league selections

By Observer staff October 30, 2013 10:25 am

Imbler senior Clint Porter made the second team all-league as a tight end, which is voted on by the league’s coaches. The Panthers have the week off before the start of the state playoffs.
Imbler senior Clint Porter made the second team all-league as a tight end, which is voted on by the league’s coaches. The Panthers have the week off before the start of the state playoffs.

The coaches met over the weekend and selected the Old Oregon League all-league team.

Imbler, the top team in the league, finished with eight first-team selections.

Panthers head coach Lee Lowe was also named the Coach of the Year, and Imbler won the sportsmanship award this season.

Imbler senior Kyle Johnson was named the first team quarterback. He finished the regular season with 92-of-156 passing for 1,799 yards with 26 touchdowns and two interceptions.

He also ran for 413 yards on 44 carries with six touchdowns.

Imbler’s Joe Griffin also capped of a great regular season with a first-team selection as a running back. The junior carried the ball for 1,472 yards on 120 attempts, a 12.27 yards per carry average. Griffin finished with 30 touchdowns on the ground. Griffin wasn’t just limited to running the ball. He caught 25 passes for 661 yards with 11 touchdowns. 

Powder Valley’s Quin Stephens also made the first team as a running back. 

Badger senior Tyler Robinson was selected as the only first-team receiver. 

Powder Valley, Cove, Wallowa and Joseph wrap up the season with non-league games Friday. The opening round of the state playoffs will begin the following week. 

Imbler is trying to stay near the top of the OSAA state rankings. 

Lowell leapfrogged the Panthers for the top spot last week. 

Dufur and Valley, No. 3 and 4, respectively, both have games Friday and could jump past Imbler with wins.


OOL All-League


First team: Quarterback: Kyle Johnson, sr., Imbler. Running back: Quin Stephens, sr., Powder Valley Joe Griffin, jr., Imbler. Center: Reed Grave, jr., Imbler. Guard:  Cole Campbell, sr., Imbler; John Stein, jr., Joseph. Tightend: Chaz Murray, jr., Wallowa. Wide Receiver: Tyler Robinson, sr., Powder Valley. Punter: Spencer Shelton, sr., Wallowa. Kicker: Ben Kahoho, sr., Imbleer. Kick returner: Cole Laci, sr., Cove. 

Second  team: Quarterback: Chace Dixon, sr., Powder Valley. Running back: Cole Laci, sr., CV; Eric Lara, jr., Joseph. Center: Garreth Murray, jr., Wallowa. Guard: Ben Kanoho, sr., Imbler; Sam Gekler, sr., Cove. Tightend: Klint Porter, jr., Imbler. Wide Receiver: Luke Silbernagle, jr., Imbler. Punter: Derrick Murchison, jr., Cove. Kicker: Sam Gekler, sr., Cove. Kick returner: Noah Allen, soph., Wallowa.

Honorable mention: Quarterback: Wyatt Warnock, sr., Joseph. Running back: Spencer Shelton, sr., Wallowa. Center: Dylan Pretti, sr., Cove; Lee McGlligot, Jr., Powder Valley. Wide Reciever: Noah Allen, soph., Wallowa. Kicker: Jake Grammon, sr., Powder Valley; Brye Melville, fr., Wallowa.  


First team: Nose guard: Chad Witty, soph., Cove. Defensive end: Cole Campbell, sr., Imbler. Linebacker: Cody Swalberg, sr., Imbler; Quin Stephens, sr., Powder Valley; Wyatt Warnock, sr., Joseph. Defensive back: Justin Seal, sr., Pine Eagle; Joe Griffin, jr., Imbler; Cole Laci, sr., Cove. 

Second team: Nose guard: Ray Denig, jr., Pine Eagle. Defensive end: Ben Smallen., sr., Joseph; Jake Grammon, sr., Powder Valley. Linebacker: Kurtis Schmidt, soph., Cove; Josiah Kellogg, soph., Cove, Chave Dixon, sr., Powder Valley. Defensive back: Kyle Johnson, sr., Imbler; Blair Beaudion, sr., Joseph; Noah Allen, soph., Wallowa.

Honorable mention: Nose guard: Joe Princena, jr., Wallowa. Defensive end: Riley Merrigan., sr., Imbler. Defensive back: Jayden Moore, sr., Cove; Cayden Flurry, fr., Joseph.