EOU hauls in postseason awards

By Observer staff November 29, 2013 10:32 am

WHITEFISH, Mont. — Seven Eastern Oregon University football players found homes on the 2013 All-Frontier Conference teams, conference commissioner Kent Paulson announced Wednesday. 

The Mountaineers had four players — running back Chris McGinnis-Parker, wide receiver Jace Billingsley, linebacker Ryan Watson and defensive lineman Kyle Lanoue — selected to the first team.

McGinnis-Parker set the school’s single season rushing record with 1,361 yards, while Billingsley recorded a single season record with 69 receptions on the season. Watson finished the 2013 season with 109 tackles, led the team with five interceptions and recorded two sacks. Lanoue recorded 46 tackles on the season, seven tackles for a loss and a team-high four sacks.

Offensive lineman Emory Jones, Garek Stuart and defensive back Karsen Garcia were voted to the second team. 

Billingsley was also selected as a second-team selection as a kick returner.

Rocky Mountain College coach Brian Armstrong was selected as the 2013 coach of the year. Southern Oregon University junior quarterback Austin Dodge was a repeat selection as the offensive player of the year and Carroll College linebacker Sean Blomquist was named the defensive player of the year.