La Grande brings home team title

By Observer staff December 14, 2013 06:37 pm


After just missing a Muilenburg Tournament title by four points past season, La Grande didn't take any chances at its home wrestling event Saturday.


La Grande brought home the team title with 301.5 points, a feat that hadn't been done in more than 15 years. Scappoose took second with 282.5 points.

The Tigers put six wrestlers into the championship matches, and walked away with three titles.

Cole Rohan 106 pounds, Ryan Middleton 138 pounds and Caleb Woodworth 170 pounds brought home the first-place belt buckles.

Tyler Isaacson, Jared Neiss and Taren Hardwick each took second.

Enterprise/Joseph won the small school title, for the second straight season, led by Wyatt Warnock's win at 220 pounds.

Read the full story in Monday's edition of The Observer.