LHS players bring home hardware

February 26, 2014 10:45 am

La Grande senior Tyson Wicklander was named co-Player of the Year in the Greater Oregon League with his team finishing the season 18-3 overall.
La Grande senior Tyson Wicklander was named co-Player of the Year in the Greater Oregon League with his team finishing the season 18-3 overall.

La Grande’s Wicklander, Albrecht receive league Player of the Year honors 

The La Grande boys basketball team wrapped up the season with a shared Greater Oregon League title with Ontario, falling in the regular season finale to Ontario 51-47.

The theme of sharing continued into the postseason awards, with La Grande senior Tyson Wicklander sharing the Player of the Year honors with senior Jason Hauter of Ontario. 

The Tigers finished with one of the best seasons in the school’s history,  and reeled off a 16-game winning streak during the season. La Grande finished 18-3 overall and 5-1 in Greater Oregon League play.

Ontario finished the season 16-8 overall with a 5-1 league record.

La Grande had two other members on the first team.

Senior point guard Troy Williams was a first-team selection, while junior Brandon Dall also earned a first-team honor.

In total La Grande had six players selected selected to the all-league team.

Jake Powell and Brandon Cederholm were second-team selections.

Kurt Boyd was an honorable mention selection.


Greater Oregon League 

All-League selections

First Team

Brandon Dall, JR, La Grande; Troy Williams, SR, La Grande; Kyler Vogt, SR, Ontario; Carlos Angel, JR, Mac-Hi; Mason Cline, SR, Baker 

Second Team 

Mike Hussey, SR, Ontario; Jake Podoski, JR, Mac-Hi; Logan Sand, SO, Baker; Brandon Cederholm, SR, La Grande; Jake Powell, JR, La Grande; Kyle Srack, JR, Baker 

Honorable Mention 

Tim LeBoutillier, SR, Ontario; Ricardo Alva, SR, Mac-Hi; Kurt Boyd, JR, La Grande; Ryan Hawker, SR, Ontario; Aiden Hayes, JR, Baker 

Co-Players of the Year 

Tyson Wicklander, SR, La Grande; Jason Hauter, SR, Ontario

LHS sophomore Albrecht earns POTY award

Despite being led by a youth movement, the La Grande girls basketball team took home another Greater Oregon League title this season with a 6-0 record in league play. The Tigers finished the season with a 16-5 overall record.

La Grande sophomore Avery Albrecht was named the Player of the Year for the league.

Two other sophomores made the all-league selections.

Senior Haley White and sophomore Kylin Collman were also first-team selections.

In total, the Tigers had five players on the all-league team. 

Junior Auslin McDaniel-Perrin was a second team selection along with sophomore Kali Avila.


Greater Oregon League 

All-League selections

First Team 

Riely Helmick, JR, Ontario; Haley White, SR, La Grande; Bri Sands, SO, Baker; Kylin Collman, SO, La Grande; Rylee Salutregui, SR, Ontario 

Second Team

Makia Carlson, SR, Mac-Hi; Michelle Freese, JR,Baker; Auslin McDaniel-Perrin, JR, La Grande; Ali Yano, SR, Ontario; Kali Avila, SO, La Grande 

Honorable Mention 

Mckenzie Fite, SR, Mac-Hi; Shannon Carter, SO, Mac-Hi; Ally Brown, SR, Baker; Shay Anderson, SR, Ontario 

Player of the Year 

Avery Albrecht, SO, La Grande