Candidates file for local boards

Thirty-four candidates met the March 16 filing deadline for 35 positions up for election on cemetery, fire, health and sanitation district boards in Union County.

The candidates who filed to run in the May 16 election for these positions are listed below.

La Grande Cemetery District Board

Marilyn Fallow and Lester Warner filed for the two open at large positions.

Elgin Cemetery District Board

Dennis Cross filed for the one open position.

Cove Cemetery District Board

Position 2: no candidates filed.

Summerville Cemetery District Board

Carrie Jo Bingaman filed for the one open at large position.

North Powder Cemetery District Board

Shelly Gray and Erin Thompson filed for the two open at large positions.

Union Rural Fire District Board

Position 1: Michael Becker

Position 3: Tim Sheehy

Position 4: Sam Baker

Position 5: Judy Wing

Powder Rural Fire District Board

Position 3: Matthew McLean

Position 5: Jim Wright

La Grande Rural Fire District Board

Position 2: Brett Rudd

Position 4: Tom Blackman and Devin Cornford

Position 5: Dale De Long and Lenny Weber

Imbler Rural Fire District Board

Position 1: David Gover III and Skye Farnam

Position 4: Randy Glenn

Elgin Fire District Board

Position 3: Jim Davis

Position 4: Douglas Durfee

Position 5: Gene Livingston

Cove Rural Fire Protection District Board

Position 1: Joseph Thomas

Position 2: James Murchison

Position 4: Robert Myers

Position 5: Charlcia Smith

Island City Sanitation District Board

Carole Hewitt, J. Kay Dick and David Johnson filed for the three open at large positions.

Elgin Health District

Position 1: Melissa Coe and Everett Grandeen

Position 3: Elaine La Rochelle

Position 6: Daryl Hawes

South County Health District

Positions 1, 3, 4 and 5 are up for election but no candidates filed.

Source: Union County Clerk’s Office

School board campaign signs may be easy to find in La Grande, Cove and Elgin this spring.

The La Grande, Cove and Elgin school districts will have a total of six contested school board races in the May 16 election, based on filing records from the Union County Clerk’s Office. The filing deadline for the election was Thursday.

The La Grande School District, which includes Island City, will have three contested board races, Cove will have two and Elgin has one.

The La Grande School Board’s races will be for positions 2, 4 and 5. Position 5 has the most candidates, with three. Incumbent Christopher Woodworth, a physician, will be challenged by Travis Forrester, a biologist, and Mavis Hartz, a La Grande business owner.

The Position 2 race will be between Mike Howton, a credit union manager, and Michelle Perry. The incumbent, Greg Blackman, did not file for re-election.

The La Grande School District’s Position 4 race will match Naomi Tuinstra, an advisor specialist at Eastern Oregon University, against Randy Shaw, an auto body technician. Dayneen Koopman, the incumbent, did not file for re-election.

Position 1 is the lone La Grande seat up for election that will not be contested. Danelle Wilson, a hair dresser, will run unopposed.

The Cove School Board’s contested races will be for Positions 3 and 4. The Position 3 race will be between Burr Betts, a retired Eastern Oregon University professor and a golf course superintendent, and John Frisch, who works in the agriculture field. Position 3 incumbent Scott Spears did not file for re-election.

Incumbent Brett Moore, a civil engineer, will be challenged by Jamie Dickenson, a social worker, in the Position 4 race.

Cove’s Position 1 is an uncontested race. Incumbent Andy Lindsey, a civil engineer, will run unopposed.

The Elgin School Board’s contested race will be for Position 1. Incumbent Dan Larman, who works for the City of Elgin, will be challenged by Randy Laber, a mill worker.

Positions 3 and 5 for the Elgin School Board are also up for election but will be uncontested. Incumbents Chuck Anderson, Position 3, a general contractor, and Bill Ledbetter, Position 5, who works in construction, will run unopposed.

The Imbler and Union school boards each have three positions open and one candidate running for each seat. Those filing for the Imbler positions are incumbents Dan McDonald, Position 3, a businessman; Wade Bingaman, Position 5, a farmer; and Pam Glenn, Position 4, a bookkeeper. Incumbents also filed for all three of the Union School Board seats up for election. They are Mark Wing, Position 1, who is retired; Phillip O’Reilly, Position 3, a computer consultant; and Dennis Falk, a business owner, Position 4.

The North Powder School District has two positions, 1 and 2, up for election, but just one candidate. Incumbent Tyson Orr, who works in the delivery business, filed for Position 2, but nobody filed for Position 1. Matt McElligott, the Position 1 incumbent, did not file for re-election.