LA GRANDE — Union County Sheriff Boyd Rasmussen maintains a narrow lead for second place in his quest for a fifth term.

Cody Bowen, a deputy in the sheriff’s office, leads the race with 3,321 votes or 40.8% of the total. Rasmussen has 2,162 votes for 26.6%, staying just ahead of challenger Bill Miller of Elgin, who has 2,055 votes for 25.2%.

The fourth candidate, Shane Rollins of Cove, has 586 votes for 7.2% of the total.

With ballots coming in from outlying area of the county, the race looks to go into a November runoff between the top two vote-getters. But whether Bowen will face his boss or Miller remains too close to call.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.