106: Donnie Krissak, Bethel, def. Brayden Grosevnor, Graham Kapowsin (Fall 1:42)

113: Noah Cortez, Graham Kapowsin, def. Justin Winn, Burns (Dec. 6-2)

120: Shane Lund, Enterprise, def. Sage Brown, Oregon City (Maj. Dec. 16-5)

126: Joseph Smurphat, Graham Kapowsin, def. Cole Isaacson, La Grande (Maj. Dec. 12-1)

132: Cole Farwell, Enterprise, def. Chris Chambers, Pendleton (Dec. 7-2)

138: Berke Walker, Weiser, def. Alex Rendon, Pendleton (Dec. 8-3)

145: Gar Rodside, Bethel, def. Blake Davis, Pendleton (Fall 3:51)

152: Evan Gunderson, Burns, def. Isaac Cook, Scappoose (Fall 0:53)

160: Parker Robinson, La Grande, def. Chad Simonson, Graham Kapowsin (Dec. 3-1)

170: Clay Keller, Baker/Powder Valley, def. Nathan Reed, La Grande (Dec. 6-3)

182: Elijah Livingston, La Grande, def. Thomas Cousins, Barlow (Fall 3:47)

195: James Ellis, Banks, def. Kash Anderson, Bishop Kelly (Dec. 9-2)

220: Spencer Gerst, La Grande, def. Chris Sparks, Graham Kapowsin (Dec. 6-3)

285: Lane Marshall, Oregon City, def. Hudson Cole, Baker/Powder Valley (Fall 0:56)

Team Scores

1. La Grande: 269

2. Bethel (Wash.): 263

3. Weiser (Id.): 248

4. Graham Kapowsin (Wash.): 184.5

5. Baker/Powder Valley: 183.5


13. Enterprise: 88

17. Union/Cove: 35

19. Elgin: 13

20. Imbler: 9

This post has been updated.

La Grande and Bethel, Washington, spent much of the 2017 Muilenburg Wrestling Tournament trading the team lead.

The Braves, in fact, took the lead from the hometown Tigers with two victories by fall early in the championship round.

But La Grande got the final say.

Parker Robinson, Elijah Livingston and Spencer Gerst each won individual championships, with Livingston’s second-round pin putting the Tigers over the top as La Grande won the Muilenburg Friday and Saturday at La Grande High School, its first team victory in its home tournament since 2013.

Bethel’s Gar Rodside gave his team a 263-255 lead in the team score over La Grande after a pin at 145 pounds, but was the last Brave to take to the mat.

Robinson started La Grande’s final push with a thrilling 3-1 decision over Chad Simonson of Graham Kapowsin, Washington, at 160. Robinson won the match on a takedown with about 15 seconds remaining.

Two matches later it was Livingston’s turn. The senior, who was named the tournament’s most outstanding wrestler with five victories by fall, dominated Thomas Cousins, of Barlow. He twice recorded a takedown and a nearfall before finally finishing off the match with a pin at 3:47, which gave La Grande the lead for good in the team score.

Gerst’s win was the icing on the cake. The sophomore pulled ahead with a nice takedown and nearfall late in the second round on his way to a 6-3 decision over Graham Kapowsin’s Chris Sparks at 220.

The win came as a bit of a surprise for Gerst since Sparks had pinned McLoughlin’s Spencer Wells — who had beaten Gerst a week earlier — in the semifinals.

While they received the championship glory, the trio wasn’t alone in getting the Tigers back to the top of the Muilenburg.

The Tigers put eight wrestlers into the semifinals, and five into the championship round. Cole Isaacson and Nathan Reed came up short in their title bids at 126 and 170, respectively, but still came in second. Ezra McIntosh (120) Casey McCall (126) both recovered from semifinal losses to the eventual champions in their respective weight classes to take third, and Hayden Shafer also placed third at 160. Alex Kehr, meanwhile, shook off an early loss to win four in a row and claim the consolation title at 120. In all, 17 of La Grande’s 20 wrestlers who took part scored points for the Tigers, and seven scored at least 20 points.

La Grande wasn’t the only local team to find success. Enterprise took the small school championship and finished in 13th with 88 points, beating larger schools like McLoughlin, Reynolds and The Dalles in the team standings.

Shane Lund and Cole Farwell both took home championships, but took different routes to get there. Lund coasted to the 120-pound championship with four pins in his first four matches before finishing his performance off with a 16-5 major decision over Oregon City’s Sage Brown.

Farwell, meanwhile, had to rally twice just to reach the final at 132. He scored a late reversal and nearfall to escape with a 13-11 decision over Bethel’s Zyle Blas in the quarters, then need a third-round reversal to overtake Pendleton’s Koby Jones in the semis by decision, 6-5.

He had no such problems in the finals, leading throughout on his way to a 7-2 decision over Pendleton’s Chris Chambers for the title.

Both Trace Evans (132) and Dylan Staigle (138) reached the consolation finals in their divisions, with Evans coming away with the consolation title for Enterprise.

Union/Cove followed in the team standings in 17th place with 35 points.

Daniel Devore carried the mantle for the Bobcats, reaching the semifinals at 132, but slipped to sixth place after a rough second day of action. Gabriel Hurt (113) and Riley Bruce (170) both reached the quarterfinals before bowing out, and Jaxson Blackburn (126) won a pair of consolation matches before falling in the consolation semifinals.

Jordan Volle paced Elgin, which took 19th with 13 points, by earning a pair of victories and reaching the consolation semifinals at 170. Kenneth Terry (113) and Clayton Hammond (182) both reached the consolation quarterfinals for the Huskies.

Imbler scored nine points and finished 20th, led by Sean Willis, who shook of an early loss to win three straight matches and eventually reach the consolation semifinals at 126. Willis scored all of the Panthers’ points.

Joseph places 10th at Culver

Steven Beckman picked up his second tournament victory of the season as Joseph/Wallowa placed 10th at the Culver Invitational Friday and Saturday.

The junior coasted to the finals at 113 pounds with pins in the quarterfinals and semifinals before eking out a close 6-5 decision over Glide’s Gage Dill in the championship match.

Zeb Ramsden placed third at 120, shaking off a loss to bounce back through the consolation bracket and win the third-place match by fall over North Lake’s Joye Wyatt.

Austin Brockamp went 2-2 at 182 to take fifth, finishing with a victory by fall over Irrigon’s Tanner Mills in the fifth-place match. Gus Ramsden placed sixth at 160 by going 1-3.

Joseph/Wallowa, as a team, scored 64 points. Host Culver was the runaway champion with 234.5 points.